Messaoud Bahloul, Algerian plastic artist, is born on 1955, September 29th at Tazmalt in Béjaïa county

divider-ornamental-banner

ELMES is its artistic signature

The quest for meaning

divider-ornamental-banner

It was in 1982 that Messaoud Bahloul, painter and miniaturist, graduated in ceramics from the National School of Fine Arts in Algiers. Whoever adopts the signature of Elmes acquires the different artistic techniques, mastery of colours and is more imbued with patterns that embellish the traditional Algerian household arts. These geometric Berber symbols present in pottery and weaving are already familiar to him, omnipresent as they were in the usual objects that surrounded him in his childhood, at Tazmalt in Kabylia.

His academic training completed, he began his real journey of learning the visual arts in contact with great artists and field experiences. Especially since his curiosity leads him to touch on all that is likely to constitute him benchmarks and perspectives of evolution. And it is curiously during the accomplishment of his national service within the Design Office of the National Defense ministry, where come all the graduates of Fine Arts, that he enriches his know-how by mixing with many plastic artists formed in different countries and creating painted landscapes inspired by great universal painters commissioned by his hierarchy for the decoration of the place.

Rubbing shoulders with the greats

divider-ornamental-banner

The experience gained in contact with the great painter M’Hamed Issiakhem was equally fruitful. Under his authority, he took part in 1978 with four students in the beautification project of the city of Algiers. “We had dared to approach certain forms in our frescoes, the marriage of certain colors, the Berber motifs. He accepted that; Moreover, he pushed us to be bold, not to hesitate to do silly things”, Elmes recalls, still grateful for this renowned plastic artist who impressed by its character and also and especially by his talent.

An experience no doubt exhilarating since in 1984, he uses his practice for the beautification of the city of Bouira, which was then predominantly agricultural. It was the time of the great revolutionary sites, that of the Agrarian Revolution accompanied by the Cultural Revolution, both engaged in the national edification. Of these grandiloquent ideological impulses, it nevertheless remains the enriching experience and the sunny memory of sincere collective human investments.

His passage through the National School of Fine Arts in Algiers opens the prospects for a more personal achievement through participation in individual and collective exhibitions, at national and foreign levels. Elmes does not fail to be present in national exhibitions or biennales of international art. In 2007, his collaboration at the 16th Renault Paris group show won him the 2nd prize (mention of a work on paper). A recognition acquired at the cost of a patient and prolific journey that leads him to raise to other levels of thinking on the practice of plastic art.

The symbol and the olive tree

divider-ornamental-banner

This is particularly the case when in 1986, the discovery of a Belgian artistic movement called “Circle and Square” offers to Elmes, as curious as intrigued, the opportunity to inquire about the meaning of geometric symbols. This is a real revelation that allowed the beginning of a promising creative turn making the figure of the triangle the subject of an elaborate artistic work, supported by an intellectual thinking intrinsically philosophical. A thinking fueled by his ongoing exchanges with his friend, the poet M’hamed Hassani.

It is in the years 1992-93 that takes place the first exhibition of the Triangles resulting from this phase of philosophical as well as plastic research : the quest for meaning, for link between the idea and the form.

The mountainous vegetable environment of Kabylia where Elmes bathes makes the olive tree the lord of the trees. He took part in 2012 in the collective realization of a sculpture of a traditional olive press in his hometown Tazmalt. The artist’s sensibility is fascinated by the morphology of this tree with its gnarled trunk that strives to take extraordinary forms. It offers to Elmes an additional support to engage a questioning on the essence of this plant, which is organized on the creative level in a set of plastic procedures (photographs and graphic design) between 2012 -2013 and 2016. The research of the essential origin finds here also its full dimension.

Exhibitions

Contact

Nous contacter

Vous pouvez nous contacter par téléphone au 0044 77 00 30 69 78 ou bien via le formulaire ci-dessous

Messaoud Bahloul, plasticien algérien, est né le 29 septembre 1955 à Tazmalt dans la wilaya de Béjaia

divider-ornamental-banner

ELMES est sa signature artistique

La quête du sens

divider-ornamental-banner

C’est en 1982 que Messaoud Bahloul, artiste-peintre et miniaturiste, sort diplômé en céramique de l’Ecole nationale des Beaux-Arts d’Alger. Celui qui va adopter la signature d’Elmes y acquiert les différentes techniques artistiques, la maîtrise des couleurs et s’imprègne davantage des motifs qui ornementent les arts ménagers algériens traditionnels. Ces symboles géométriques berbères présents dans la poterie et les tissages lui sont déjà familiers, omniprésents qu’ils étaient dans les objets usuels qui l’entouraient dans son enfance, à Tazmalt en Kabylie.

Sa formation académique achevée, il entame son véritable parcours d’apprentissage des arts plastiques au contact de grands artistes et d’expériences de terrain. D’autant plus que sa curiosité l’amène à toucher à tout ce qui est susceptible de lui constituer des repères et des perspectives d’évolution. Et c’est curieusement lors de l’accomplissement de son service national au sein du Bureau d’études du ministère de la Défense nationale où aboutissaient tous les diplômés des Beaux-Arts, qu’il enrichit son savoir-faire en côtoyant de nombreux plasticiens accomplis formés dans différents pays et en réalisant des paysages peints inspirés de grands peintres universels commandés par sa hiérarchie pour la décoration des lieux.

Côtoyer les grands

divider-ornamental-banner

L’expérience engrangée au contact du grand artiste peintre M’Hamed Issiakhem a été tout aussi fructueuse. Sous son autorité, il avait pris part en 1978 avec quatre étudiants au projet d’embellissement de la ville d’Alger. « On avait osé aborder certaines formes dans nos fresques, le mariage de certaines couleurs, les motifs berbères. Il acceptait cela, mieux encore, il nous poussait à être audacieux, à ne pas hésiter à faire des bêtises », se souvient encore Elmes avec reconnaissance pour ce plasticien de renom qui en imposait par son caractère entier mais aussi et surtout par son talent.

Une expérience sans doute exaltante puisqu’en 1984, il met à profit sa pratique pour l’embellissement de la ville de Bouira, qui était alors à dominante agricole. C’était l’époque des grands chantiers révolutionnaires, celui de la Révolution agraire accompagnée par la Révolution culturelle, engagées en l’occurrence côte à côte dans l’édification nationale. De ces élans idéologiques grandiloquents, il demeure néanmoins l’expérience enrichissante et le souvenir ensoleillé d’investissements humains collectifs sincères.

Son passage par l’Ecole nationale des Beaux-Arts d’Alger lui ouvre les perspectives d’un accomplissement plus personnel à travers la participation à des expositions individuelles et collectives, nationales et étrangères. Elmes ne manque pas en effet d’être présent dans des salons nationaux ou dans des biennales d’art plastique internationales. En 2007, sa collaboration au 16eme salon du groupe Renault Paris lui vaut d’être lauréat du 2eme prix (mention d’œuvre sur papier). Une reconnaissance acquise au prix d’un parcours patient et prolifique qui l’amène à mener d’autres niveaux de réflexion sur la pratique de l’art plastique.

Le symbole et l’olivier

divider-ornamental-banner

C’est le cas notamment lorsqu’en 1986, la découverte d’un mouvement artistique belge dénommé « Cercle et Carré » offre à Elmes, aussi curieux qu’intrigué, l’opportunité de s’enquérir sur le sens des symboles géométriques. C’est une véritable révélation qui a permis l’amorce d’un virage créatif prometteur faisant de la figure du triangle l’objet d’un travail artistique élaboré, soutenu par une réflexion intellectuelle intrinsèquement philosophique. Une réflexion alimentée par ses échanges continus avec son ami le poète M’hamed Hassani.

C’est dans les années 1992-93 qu’a lieu la première exposition des Triangles qui résulte de cette phase de recherche philosophique autant que plastique : la quête du sens, du lien entre l’idée et la forme.

L’environnement végétal montagneux de la Kabylie dans lequel baigne Elmes fait de l’olivier le seigneur des arbres. Il prend part en 2012 à la réalisation collective d’une sculpture d’une presse traditionnelle d’olives dans sa ville natale Tazmalt. La sensibilité de l’artiste est fascinée par la morphologie de cet arbre au tronc noueux qui s’ingénie à prendre des formes extraordinaires. Il offre à Elmes un support supplémentaire pour engager un questionnement sur l’essence de ce végétal, qui s’organise sur le plan créatif dans un ensemble de démarches plastiques (photographies et graphisme) entre 2012 -2013 et 2016. La recherche de l’origine essentielle y trouve ici aussi toute sa dimension.

Expositions

Contact

Nous contacter

Vous pouvez nous contacter par téléphone au 0044 77 00 30 69 78 ou bien via le formulaire ci-dessous